8th Annual Symposium
Physics of Cancer
Leipzig, Germany
October 4-6, 2017
Words of Welcome

The fight against cancer is one of the key scientific challenges of the 21st century. With the revolutionary development of biochemistry and molecular biology, cancer research has focused since the 1970s on the molecular and genetic origins of cancer. Today, we know countless oncogenes and an immense number of molecular factors that determine tumor development in various forms and in different organs. However, a basic understanding, let alone the possibility to cure or control this complex disease, is still far beyond our reach. Despite enormous international efforts and an immense increase in knowledge, the number of cancer-related deaths has not diminished significantly over the past decades.

In the light of our increasingly complex and diverse knowledge of molecular details, the search for basic principles and mechanistic paradigms of cancer is becoming more and more important. Here, medical research is strongly benefitting from the neighboring disciplines, such as bioinformatics or systems biology. In particular, the physics of soft condensed matter plays a central role in this context. Today, it becomes increasingly clear that the reductionist agenda of the physical approach is contributing essential insight into the physical foundations of cancer.

The International Symposium 'Physics of Cancer' is fostering the interdisciplinary exchange between the leading experts of this field. As a well-established yearly conference, it has furthermore developed into a major networking platform for young scientists in this newly emerging research area at the interface between physics and cancer research.

Topics Included

  • Biomechanics (Biopolymers, Networks, Rheology, Cytoskeleton, Cell Shape)
  • Forces, Motion, Adhesion (Cell Motility, Assembly, Molecular Motors, Cell Division)
  • Oncology
  • Imaging
Organizing Committee Invited Speakers (confirmed)
  • Karen Alim (Germany)
  • Ingo Bechmann (Germany)
  • Stefan Diez (Germany)
  • Ben Fabry (Germany)
  • Clemens Franz (Germany)
  • Erwin Frey (Germany)
  • Ramin Golestanian (Great Britain)
  • Kay Gottschalk (Germany)
  • Stephan Grill (Germany)
  • Jochen Guck (Germany)
  • Mohit Kumar Jolly (USA)
  • Ulrike Köhl (Germany)
  • Nastaran Zahir (USA)
  • Jan Lammerding (USA)
  • Rudolf Merkel (Germany)
  • Jae Hun Kim (USA)
  • Marija Plodinec (Switzerland)
  • Karsten Rippe (Germany)
  • Jennifer Schwarz (USA)
  • Pascal Silberzan (France)
  • Ana-Suncana Smith (Germany)
  • Joachim Spatz (Germany)
  • Daniel Sussman (USA)
  • Aftab Taiyab (Canada)
  • Xavier Trepat (Spain)
  • Katarina Wolf (Netherlands)
  • Tobias Zech (Great Britain)
University of Leipzig  |  Faculty of Physics and Earth Sciences  |  Institute of Experimental Physics I  |  Soft Matter Physics Division
© Soft Matter Physics Division, University of Leipzig. Designed and created by sp design. Imprint & Disclaimer