Welcome address

Dear Colleagues, Dear Guests,

the Faculty of Medicine and the Faculty of Life Sciences at the University of Leipzig invites you to the 16th edition of the Leipzig Research Festival of Life Sciences on January 30, 2020, at the Medical Faculty Study Center, Liebigstraße 27.

As in previous years, this form of scientific presentation shall offer a platform to all young life science scientists and physicists from the Leipzig scientific landscape for the presentation of their research results and scientific exchange. The Research Festival shall also illustrate to the interested public, politics and as well as current and potential industrial partners how multifaceted the activities and the successes of the Leipzig scientists and doctors are in the field of life sciences and medicine.

We welcome poster contributions from all areas of medicine and the life sciences, as well as from other life science topics such as psychology, pharmacy, chemistry, veterinary medicine, physics, computer science and other fields. We also welcome registrations from the Max Planck Institutes, Fraunhofer Institutes, the UFZ, the groups in the BBZ and regional biotechnology companies. Contributions from the field of applied clinical research are also welcomed.

With special appreciation of the young scientists, the best poster presentations will once again be awarded with the prestigious Research Festival Leipzig awards.  The new feature at the 16th Research Festival will be a short presentation of the award winners during the awards ceremony to give visitors an insight into the award-winning research. Moreover, this year the audience will have an opportunity to cast their vote on the presentations given by the scientific speakers.

We would also like to invite the major scientific projects of the University Medical Center and all life science sectors to inform young scientists about the possibilities that these projects offer within the scope of our exhibition.  In this context, the Leipzig Medical Biobank (LMB) offers guided tours for all interested visitors, giving an insight into the process of sample preparation, storage and retrieval. A pre-registration is necessary.

We hope that our Research Festival in its 16th edition will again fulfill its dual purpose of presenting innovative research results and providing a contact forum of young and older scientists and physicians beyond professional and hierarchical boundaries. The Research Festival accompanies and strengthens the forward-looking development of the biomedical and biotechnological location of the University of Leipzig.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Arendt

Dr. Dr. John T. Heiker

PD Dr. Thorsten Kaiser

Prof. Dr. Thomas Magin

Prof. Dr. Michael Schaefer

Prof. Dr. Michaela Schulz-Siegmund

Venue

The Research Festival takes place in Leipzig at the Study Center of the Faculty of Medicine.

Universität Leipzig
Study Center of the Faculty of Medicine
Liebigstraße 27
04103 Leipzig

News

Abstract submission has been closed. All authors will be informed of the acceptance of the abstract in calendar week 51.

Contact

Universität Leipzig
Faculty of Medicine
Leipzig Research Center for Civilization Diseases
Management Cluster
Philipp-Rosenthal-Str. 27
04103 Leipzig
Telefon: 0341 / 97 16 72 3
E-Mail: researchfestival@life.uni-leipzig.de

Grußwort

Liebe Kolleginnen und Kollegen, liebe Gäste,

auch im Jahr 2020 laden die Medizinische Fakultät und die Fakultät für Lebenswissenschaften wieder zur nun schon 16. Auflage des Leipzig Research Festival of Life Sciences am 30. Januar 2020 in das Studienzentrum der Medizinischen Fakultät, Liebigstraße 27 ein.

Wie in den vergangenen Jahren soll diese Form der wissenschaftlichen Präsentation allen jungen »Life Science« WissenschaftlerInnen und ÄrztInnen der Leipziger Wissenschaftslandschaft eine Plattform zur Darstellung ihrer Forschungsergebnisse und zum wissenschaftlichen Austausch bieten.

Das Research Festival soll ebenso der interessierten Öffentlichkeit, der Politik und aktuellen sowie potenziellen Industriepartnern zeigen, wie facettenreich die Aktivitäten und auch die Erfolge der Leipziger WissenschaftlerInnen und ÄrztInnen gerade im Bereich Lebenswissenschaften und der gesamten Medizin sind.

Willkommen sind Posterbeiträge aus allen Bereichen der Medizin und den Biowissenschaften, ebenso aus anderen “Life Science” Themengebieten, u. a. aus der Psychologie, Pharmazie, Chemie, Veterinärmedizin, Physik, Informatik und anderen Bereichen. Wir wünschen uns ebenso Anmeldungen aus den Max-Planck- und Fraunhofer-Instituten, dem UFZ, den Gruppen im BBZ und von regionalen Biotechnologiefirmen. Auch Beiträge aus dem Bereich der angewandten klinischen Forschung sind herzlich willkommen.

Mit besonderer Wertschätzung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses werden wieder die besten Posterpräsentationen mit den renommierten Forschungspreisen des Research Festivals Leipzig ausgezeichnet. Neu beim 16. Research Festival wird eine kurze Präsentation der Preistragenden während der Preisverleihung sein, um den Besuchern einen Einblick in die prämierten Forschungsarbeiten zu geben. Ebenso eine Neuerung wird neben der bewährten Verleihung der Preise in den ausgeschriebenen Themengebieten, die Verleihung eines Publikumspreises sein.

Wir möchten auch die wissenschaftlichen Großprojekte der Universitätsmedizin und aller Life Science-Bereiche einladen an Informationsständen, den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs zu den Möglichkeiten, die diese Projekte bieten, zu informieren. Die Leipzig Medical Biobank (LMB) bietet in diesem Rahmen für alle interessierten Besucher geführte Touren an, die einen Einblick in den Ablauf der Probenaufbereitung, -lagerung und –entnahme geben. Um vorherige Anmeldung wird gebeten.

Wir hoffen, dass unser Research Festival in seiner 16. Auflage wieder seinen doppelten Zweck der Präsentation eigener innovativer Forschungsergebnisse und des Kontaktforums von jungen und älteren Wissen­schaftlern und Ärzten über Fach- und Hierarchiegrenzen hinaus erfüllen wird. Das Research Festival beglei­tet und stärkt somit die zukunftsweisende Entwick­lung des biomedizinischen und biotechnologischen Standorts der Universität Leipzig.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Arendt

Dr. Dr. John T. Heiker

PD Dr. Thorsten Kaiser

Prof. Dr. Thomas Magin

Prof. Dr. Michael Schaefer

Prof. Dr. Michaela Schulz-Siegmund

Tagungsort

Die Veranstaltung findet in Leipzig im Studienzentrum der Medizinischen Fakultät statt:

Studienzentrum der Medizinischen Fakultät
Liebigstraße 27
04103 Leipzig

News

Die Abstracteinreichung ist geschlossen. Alle Autoren werden über den Abstractstatus in der KW 51 per E-Mail informiert.

Kontakt

Universität Leipzig
Medizinische Fakultät
LIFE Management Cluster
Geschäftsstelle
Philipp-Rosenthal-Str. 27
04103 Leipzig

Telefon: 0341 / 97 16 72 3
E-Mail: researchfestival@life.uni-leipzig.de